Butterfly Masala


Amaco Builders

November 21, 2017

Sharjah Karnataka Sangha celebrates 15th anniversary; Sarvotham Shetty conferred with Mayura Award

Shodhan Prasad | photos by Floyd Kiran

Sharjah: It was a grand jubilant event of Sharjah Karnataka Sangha which hosted its 15th anniversary along with 62nd Karnataka Rajyotsava day celebrations and ‘Mayura Vishwamanya Kannadiga Award’ presentation programme on November 17 at the auditorium of Sharjah Indian Association. The event commenced at 4 p.m.

Flag hoisting

President and Committee Members of Sharjah Karnataka Sangha assembled along with Patron Mark Denis D’Souza on the stage who unfurled the Karnataka Flag waving off the start of the day’s programme.  Advisory Board Member, M.E. Moolur rendered the good wishes to all the audiences.

Students of Klassical Rythms Dance Institute presented the welcome dance and the programme started in a grand manner.  This was followed by group dance presentations by Radical Dance Studio Group & Billawas Dubai Group which gave a vibrant touch and a good start applauded by audience. 

Visiting guest, Kumari Lahari Kotiyan rendered a beautiful melodious song followed by singing by past winners of UAE level singing competition & other guest singers to include, Kum. Sannidhi Vishwanath Shetty, Madhura Vishwanath, Shahid Shahabaz, Harish Sherigar, Sai Mallika, Kum. Akshata Rao & Amogh Varsha who rendered soulful melodies appreciated and applauded by the whole audience.

Awardees felicitated

All those who were awarded ‘Mayura Vishwamanya Kannadiga’ Award in the past since year 2004 were all invited on to the stage.  Recipient’s Sujatha Shyam Sunder, Mark Denis D’Souza, Irshad Moodabidri, B.G. Mohandas, B.K. Ganesh Rai, Prakash Rao Payyar, James Mendonca, Shodhan Prasad, Harish Sherigar, M.E. Moolur, Sudhir Kumar Shetty, Pravin Kumar Shetty & Joseph Mathias were honouredwith ‘Golden Badge’ presentation from visiting Guest, Honourable Minsiter of Karnataka, U.T. Khader.

Mayura Vishwamanya Kannadiga Award 2017 

Sharjah Karnataka Sangha as every year identifies one Kannadiga who has served for Kannada and Karnataka in the overseas and honour him with the award.  This year’s award was presented to community leader Sarvotham Shetty and the award was presented by Dr. B.R. Shetty along with Minister from Karnataka, U.T. Khader and the presence of guests, Rev. Fr. Maxim Pinto of Sharjah Church, Advocate Y.A. Rahim, President of Sharjah Indian Association, Sudhir Kumar Shetty, President of UAE Exchange, Praveen Kumar Shetty, President of Karnataka NRI Forum, Dr. Sadashiva Bangera of Ajman Gulf Medical College, Harish Sherigar, Mark Denis D’Souza, Patron of Sharjah Karnataka Sangha and Sugandhraj Bekal President of Sharjah Karnataka Sangha.  The programme which started with a procession was ably handled and conducted by Past President of Sharjah Karnataka Sangha, B.K. Ganesh Rai who concluded the programme in his own imitable style successfully.

Couple felicitated

Like every year Sharjah Karnataka Sangha identifies a best worker in the organization and this time it was Shashikanth & Latha Shashikant Kanangi who were felicitated on the stage with shawl, flower bouquet, memento & felicitation certificate in front of the whole audience.

Yaksha Mayura Award

Shekar D. Shettigar who have been serving Yakshagana Ballet Art in this part of the world, contributing and training youth into this rare art form and presenting various performances in the UAE was identified and honoured with ‘Yaksha Mayura’ Award and felicitated during the programme.

Guests Honoured

Chief Guest, Dr. B.R.Shetty, Karnataka Minister U.T. Khader, Rev. Fr. Maxim Pinto, President of Sharjah Indian Association, Y.A. Rahim, Dr. Sadashiva Bangera of Gulf Medical College were all felicitated with flower bouquet, shawl & memento during the programme.

Mayura Natya Manjari

There were three Groups who participated in the above competition and all the three groups have put all their efforts to present the best possible dance presentations.  Judges Sujatha Shyamsunder Rao, Saumya Sudheer & Guruvinder Singh ably judged the participants and announced the results.  Ocean Kids Dance & Music Institute grabbed the winning position title followed by Natya Lasya &Rythms Sharjah winning the first & second runners up.  Praveen Kumar from Ocean Kids was adjudged the best Choreographer and the best performance was again by Team Ocean Kids who were felicitated and honoured during the event.

Yakshagana ballet by children

Children’s trained by Guru Shekar D. Shettigar who performed “Dasharathi Darashana’ a beautiful Yakshagana Ballet performance which was appreciated by the whole audience and applauded gave a stunning performance.  The convener Dinesh Shetty was recognized and felicitated during the programme.

The entire programme which was ably presented by Master of Ceremony Arati Adiga &invitee from India Yogesh Nirjaan was appreciated by the whole audience.

The programme concluded with vote of thanks and free food samplings by various sponsors.


Sharjah Karnataka Sangha celebrates 15th anniversary; Sarvotham Shetty conferred with Mayura Award


Add comment

  • Coastaldigest.com reserves the right to delete or block any comments.
  • Coastaldigset.com is not responsible for its readers’ comments.
  • Comments that are abusive, incendiary or irrelevant are strictly prohibited.
  • Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name to avoid reject.