Sahyadri College hosts Toastmasters division level speech contest

Media Release
February 25, 2019

‘CONFAB’, the Division Level Speech Contest of Toastmasters District 92 (Division F) was held on Sunday, 17th February 2019 at Sahyadri College of Engineering and Management, Adyar, Mangaluru. 

This was followed by ‘EMPARCH’, the zonal level contest for college students. Division F comprises twelve Toastmasters clubs of Mangaluru and Udupi districts.

‘CONFAB’ contest had three categories: International Speech Contest, Evaluation Contest and Table Topic Contest. The winners of CONFAB were: International Speech Contest - Flexon Fernandes (First), Leona Aranha (Second) and Sudesh Kumar (Third); Evaluation Contest - Flexon Fernandes (First), Anik Dutta (Second), Malini Hebbar (Third); Table Topics Contest - Anik Dutta (First), Manisha Daithota (Second) and Sudesh Kumar (Third). 

The first place winners will participate in the semi annual contest to be held in Bengaluru on 28th April 2019. Those who clear this contest in the first place will further qualify to participate in the District Annual Conference ‘Coronation’ to be held in Bengaluru on 24th, 25th, 26th May 2019 at Taj Vivanta, Yeshwanthpur, Bengaluru. 

Veera Katpitia was the Chief Judge for the CONFAB contest. Toastmaster Sridhar Kamath was the Contest Chair. Amith Lionel Ananda, Santhosh M J and Bhaskar Kiran were the Contest Masters for the three categories.

EMPARCH is an initiative by District 92 to introduce Toastmasters to college students and build their leadership potential and communication skills. The three categories of ‘EMPARCH’ zonal level contest for college students were Humorous Speech Contest, TurnCoat and Improv. Students of Mangalore and Udupi district participated. The winners of EMPARCH were: Humorous Speech - Ashley Jovian (First), Shalini Prabhu (Second) and Sethu Pillai (Third); Turn Coat - Shalini Prabhu (First), Sethu Pillai (Second) and  Shagufa Bawa (Third); Improv – Team Shagufa, Hiba, Raj Mohan (First), Team Shalini Prabhu, Ratan (Second) and Team Tarun Asthana, Ashley (Third).

The first place winner will go on to participate in the grand finale in Bengaluru on 24th February. Molly Chaudhary was the Contest Chair. Amith Lionel Ananda, Tanuja Maben and Shivani Baliga were the Contest Masters for the three categories.

The day long programme opened with a welcome address by Division Director Savita Salian. District 92 representatives who were present during the contest were Program Quality Director Raj Kumar Bansal, Club Growth Director Bhoopathy Shankar, District Administration Manager Chimmu Kutty, District 92 Conference Chair Gopinath Srinivasan, Division E Director Vanitha Rangarajan and Area M3 Director Rohan David.


Add new comment

  • reserves the right to delete or block any comments.
  • is not responsible for its readers’ comments.
  • Comments that are abusive, incendiary or irrelevant are strictly prohibited.
  • Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name to avoid reject.