Poll Updates

Bengaluru, May 16: Despite the Congress' alliance with the Janata Dal {Secular} (JD-S), which will give them the requisite majority in the Karnataka Assembly to form their government, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader B. S. Yeddyurappa, on Wednesday, suggested his party will claim to form the government. "During the legislature party meeting, the leader will be elected. From there we will go to

Udupi, May 17: Janardhan Tonse, president of Udupi District Congress Committee, said on Tuesday that the Congress accepted the verdict of the people of Udupi district with humility. “It was a disappointing verdict for the party, but we will introspect over the causes. The defeat was not due to the anti-establishment mood as the party had given several pro-poor schemes and development projects,” he

Bengaluru, MAY 16 : The BJP firmed up its urban pockets, by winning 11 of the 26 Bengaluru constituencies, with most of its candidates scoring a hat-trick of victories. Among the MLAs registering triple victories are R Ashok, who in fact scored a double hat-trick by winning the Padmanabhanagar constituency for the sixth time, defeating V K Gopal of the JD(S) by 32,166 votes. S Suresh Kumar

Kasganj, May 15: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath today congratulated the people of Karnataka for making the BJP the single largest party in the state and said they played an important role in realising the dream of a Congress-free India. "Karnataka has played an important role in realising Prime Minister Narendra Modi's dream of a Congress-free India... We are moving in this direction

Senior Congress leader M Veerappa Moily today described early trends suggesting a BJP victory in the Karnataka Assembly polls as "quite disappointing and attributed his party's loss to wrong caste management. The Congress should not have raised the Lingayat issue before the polls, Moily said, adding that the party had not managed caste equations well in its electoral strategy. He also defended

Bengaluru, May 15: Changing parties at every election had ensured that actor-turned-politician C.P. Yogeshwar remained the undisputed winner from Channapatna. But JD(S) leader H.D. Kumaraswamy’s entry seems to have ended Mr. Yogeshwar’s dream run. Mr. Yogeshwar first entered politics in 1999 and won as an independent. He then joined the Congress and contested successfully in 2004 and 2008. He quit

Shivamogga, May 15: BJP candidate and former minister Kumar Bangarappa has defeated sitting MLA, JD(S) candidate and his brother Madhu Bangarappa. BJP has so far won six seats and Congress has won one, in the district. The six constituencies BJP has won include Shivamogga urban, Shivamogga rural, Soraba, Shikaripura, Thirthahalli and Sagara.

Hubballi, May 15: Former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar has scored a double hatrick in Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency by winning the seat for the sixth consecutive time. He has held onto the seat since 1994. Shettar secured the seat in this assembly poll by beating Congress' Mahesh Nalwada who gave him a tough fight till the very end of counting. Nalawada has lost to Shettar for the second

New Delhi, MAY 15: Had the Congress formed an alliance with the JD (S) before the Karnataka Assembly election, the poll outcome would have been "very different", West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said on Tuesday. The TMC leader took to Twitter to congratulate the winners. According to the latest trends, the BJP is leading in 113 constituencies, the number required for a simple majority in

Bengaluru, MAY 15: The consolidation of the dominant Lingayat and Vokkaliga communities seem to have worked against the Congress, which looks to be staring at a defeat going by the vote count trends. There was widespread fear within the Congress in the run-up to the polls that the government’s decision to accord "religious minority" status on the Lingayat community would backfire. Trends show that