Butterfly Masala


Amaco Builders

May 24, 2019

When there is a BJP wave, all of us become helpless: Pramod Madhwaraj

News Network

Udupi, May 24: JD(S) candidate Pramod Madhwaraj, while conceding defeat in the elections to the Udupi-Chikkamagaluru constituency on Thursday, attributed it to the BJP wave.

He tweeted: “When there is a wave in favour of BJP, all of us become helpless. Nevertheless, voters are our bosses and they have given the verdict, which I humbly accept without any bitterness.”

BJP’s Shobha Karandlaje retained the Udupi-Chikkamagaluru parliamentary seat by defeating Madhwaraj by a massive margin of 3,49,599 votes.

Ms. Karandlaje, who established lead over Mr. Madhwaraj in the first round, maintained it through the next 20 rounds. There were a total of 12 candidates in the fray for the 2019 parliamentary polls in the constituency.

The Congress did not contest the elections this time as the Udupi-Chikkamagaluru parliamentary seat was left to the JD(S) as part of the seat-sharing agreement. 

The BJP has maintained lead in all eight Assembly segments in the Udupi-Chikkamagaluru parliamentary constituency.

The votes secured by the JD(S) and the BJP in the eight Assembly segments are as follows: Kundapur: JD(S): 35,779, BJP: 1,12,975; Udupi: JD(S): 57,246, BJP: 1,01,507; Kaup: JD(S): 46,430, BJP: 91,097; Karkala: JD(S): 38,895, Congress: 97,442; Sringeri: JD(S): 47,159, BJP: 76,129; Mudigere: JD(S): 43,800, BJP: 70,512; Chikkamagaluru: JD(S): 54,490, BJP: 87,635; Tarikere: JD(S): 45,133, BJP: 80,185 votes.

When there is a BJP wave, all of us become helpless: Pramod Madhwaraj


Add comment

  • Coastaldigest.com reserves the right to delete or block any comments.
  • Coastaldigset.com is not responsible for its readers’ comments.
  • Comments that are abusive, incendiary or irrelevant are strictly prohibited.
  • Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name to avoid reject.